Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Maybe I am drawing lines instead of following lines that are already there;  However, according to the way God is, not as told by the world but as told by God Himself, it seems as though these two events are related

Scripture tells us that God will cause the sin of a Dad to find it’s punishment on the generations of his loins for up to four generations.  Sin tends to perpetuate and build on itself.  If that sin is left unchecked, 8 or 12 or 16 generations later, that sin could be enormous and the punishment inflicted will need to be severe.

Genesis 15 starts like this:

{After this, the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision:

“Do not be afraid, Abram.  I am Your Shield, Your Very Great Reward.”

But Abram said, “Sovereign Lord, what can You give me since I remain childless and the one who will inherit my estate is Eliezer of Damascus?”  And Abram said, “You have given me no children; so a servant in my household will be my heir.”}

400 years or so after Abraham was in that conversation with God, His children became incredibly enslaved.

In that conversation, God demonstrated His tender side.  He made Himself vulnerable, and Abram (probably completely unknowingly) didn’t even hear Him.  More accurately, Abram did hear Him but, what God said was brushed aside and the conversation was focused back on what Abram wanted.  He told Abram, “I am Your Great Reward”  Abram, without even blinking said ” but God, I want children”.

Children were not what Abram should have wanted.  God should have been what Abram wanted.  God was hurt by this.  Why? Because God loves us.  When we want things other than God, it hurts us.  God is hurt because His children want things that hurt them.  God used Abram to teach the generations to see how important it is to make God more important than even family or friends.  “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Us followers of The Savior  know that God comes first.  My prayer is that God finds other believers like Abraham who are willing to be used by God in order to cause the generations to have a chance to know a deeper relationship with Him.

 

